top of page
  • Katelyn

February Update

Well it is month two of the year and the monthly newsletters are still happening so I say that is a good sign!


It's been a very eventful February, baby ducks arrived and seeds have been planted in anticipation of warmer months.

We had a break in winter weather and have spent many days outside transplanting plants, reworking gravel, building new garden beds, tree planting, and site prepping for the many projects to come as Spring arrives.

 

Ducks

The ducklings are bringing us so much joy and it is a pleasure to watch them grow. It happens so quickly! I purchased them through a California based hatchery called Metzer Farms and the whole process went about as good as it could! We had initially discussed just purchasing two females, but after some back and forth we decided adding a male in would be beneficial in the future. We called last minute to see if a male duck could be added to our order and were told that if there was an extra it was a possibility. I was pleasantly pleased that a third duck was quacking around in our little box when I popped it open. They spent the first week of life in a little tub in the kitchen. Now they have moved out to the garage in a trough with more space for them and less smell for me. They will stay close for a month or so before moving outside completely. A heat source will still be required until their adult feathers come in. We certainly don't mind having them close. I mean look at those faces.


 

Around the House


Our many home and property projects continue to move forward.

Our deck finally has some momentum as we race to beat the rising lumber prices that inevitably come with Summer.


The location for the green house has been leveled and prepped. I’m on the search for a great Dutch door if you happen to find one.


We planted about ten trees this Winter. Bing cherry, Fuji and Braeburn apple, Douglas Fir, Western Cedar, Cypress, and Madrona all have found homes around the acreage.


A new raised bed was built along the shop for all of our lavender plants. My hope is we will add about another ten plants throughout this year to finish out the 30 foot stretch.


New garden beds have been assembled and our garden planting layout has been mapped out.

 

Seedlings


I know I said I would wait, but... The seedlings are in full swing and the house smells vaguely like soil. I couldn't resist. I planted herbs, flowers, and our cold season vegetables for now. I will wait on tomatoes and peppers (among others) until we are much closer to Summer, likely the April time frame.


All of my Dahlia tubers have made their way indoors and I anticipate a breathtaking rainbow of blooms this year. I have started to notice the slight change in color around the tiny eyes which indicate where the sprout will start. I plan on planting with an ombre schema, much as all of my egg photos have been presented. The dahlias will find a new home in beds framing the exterior of our new greenhouse come the end of Spring. New life is all around, so take a moment to enjoy it!


 

Announcement


Last but certainly not least, I have a truly exciting announcement. I am partnering with a local feed company, Scratch and Peck Feeds. They are a business focused on healthy eating, animal welfare, and regenerative agriculture, I mean what’s not to love. Not much will change on your side, but I will occasionally be sharing about their products and the benefits of them. I appreciate your supporting my paid content so I can continue sharing all of my free content. If you are interested in purchasing their organic feed I have a code of HASTIEHEN for $5 off a 25lb bag. For future use you can always find my codes located in the hyperlink of my IG page.

 

Warmly, Katelyn at Hastie Hen Farm




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page